top of page
  • Writer's pictureloonyleaflet

My first attempt at learning a skill!



A girl dancing- Anime aesthetic


In the wild world of my childhood, I was always curious and impatient. My insatiable appetite for learning something new always grew bigger and bigger, no matter how impractical or comical it may seem.


So, when I was a 5-year-old, I declared to myself that I wanted to learn hip-hop; it was undeniably a huge trend at the time. So when our class had a dance performance to present for the annual day, I volunteered without hesitation.

I was barely able to tie my shoelaces then, but I was looking forward to the dance routines.


The teacher liked my excitement but still put me in the back with all the tall kids in front of me. We practiced every day. At first, it was tough to remember all the steps, but I got the hang of it. (or so I thought!)


On the night of the annual day, our teacher slapped powder on our faces, double-checked our costumes, and we were ready to go! The moment I felt the exhilaration, I was shining from my heart. As we entered the stage, I could feel there were lots of parents seeing us. I searched for my parents too, but those tall kids were blocking my vision. As the music started, parents started flashing pictures. I still couldn't see my parents; it was too dark.


Anyways we started smoothly and in the end, we were supposed to jump and then kneel down. I basically gave up hope of spotting my parents and thought I was going to focus on the dance, nail it, and impress my teachers, who made me stand in the back.


I jumped with all the others, and then, there, I spotted my mother. Then I saw my father and my sister clicking pictures. I waved at them with all my energy. I was so happy to nail the performance that I accidentally stepped on my classmate's hand, and she fell on her friend, and then she fell, and one by one they fell like a domino.


What was wrong with them?


I glanced at my teacher, and from her expression, I knew I had done something wrong.


Oops! I had forgotten to kneel down.

So, I did, and my classmates were also lying down. My teacher looked as red as a tomato.


That was the beginning; now I can easily do hip-hop dances.










48 views2 comments

Related Posts

See All

2 Comments


Guest
Apr 17

Was not expecting this end😂

Like
loonyleaflet
loonyleaflet
Apr 22
Replying to

😊

Like
bottom of page